Media News Archive

Lok Satta releases first list - The Hindu

Names candidates for 36 Assembly constituencies

HYDERABAD: The Lok Satta on Monday announced its first list of 36 candidates to contest the 2009 Assembly elections, giving representation to 22 candidates belonging to ‘discriminated sections’, including women.

The party also requested 27 nominees, including its State leaders, to enter the poll fray without selecting the constituencies. The list includes seven constituencies in the city.

Selection criteria

Releasing the list here, party president Jayaprakash Narayan said there were 11 businessmen, five each lawyers and doctors and three each housewives, from education-related fields and social activists. He stated that the candidates had been selected unanimously and where it was not possible, elected. The criteria for selection was ‘competence, leadership qualities and passion for service’.

Dr. Narayan said the party welcomed public-spirited persons to contest on behalf of the Lok Satta.

Replying to a question, he said the party had asked him to contest, but he was yet to decide whether he should contest for the Assembly or the Lok Sabha.

The list of candidates is: Y. Rama Rao (L.B. Nagar), K. Srinivas Rao (Seri Lingampally), N. Ravinder (Qutbullapur), Rohit Kumar (Musheerabad), Pratibha Rao (Jubilee Hills), Maharani (Secunderabad), A. Subhashini (Khairatabad), T. Annam Naidu (Amudalavalasa), D. Eshwar Rao (Gajapatinagaram), B. Appa Rao Babji (Vizianagaram), Biharilal (Gajuwaka ), G. Narayana (Anakapalli), K. Jayasri (Jaggampet), V.S. Kanchustambham (Prathipadu), K. Venkateswar Rao (Peddapuram), G. Janakirama Raju (Undi), U. Rajamani (Pamurru), K.V. Basaveswara Rao (Vijayawada East), Jnanamba (Vijayawada Central), Chennupati Vazir (Penumaluru), M. Bal Ranga Reddy (Giddaluru), Ch.Venkat Reddy (Markapuram), N. Sridhar (Nellore Town), K.V. Krishnaiah (Gudur), M. Mallikarjuna (Palamner), Jagan Mohan Raj (Rajampet), K. Kondaiah (Anantapur Town), P. Srinivasa Rao (Tungaturti), K. Rajender (Suryapet), S. Raghavulu (Khammam), U. Narender (Wyra), P. Nageswar Rao (Paleru), P. K. Rama Rao (Warangal West), M. Saroja (Chennuru), M. Rama Reddy (Yellareddy).

Courtesy: The Hindu

Tuesday, December 23, 2008 - 09:41

Lok Satta asks Chiru to embrace new political culture

The Lok Satta Party today told Praja Rajyam Party founder President Chiranjeevi that people's lives could not be transformed without clear-cut policies and a new political culture.

The party pointed out that even men of impeccable integrity and competence like Dr Manmohan Singh and Mr L K Advani could make only a little impact on the political system or the lives of people because they had to work amidst corrupt political culture, a press release here said.

Commenting on Mr Chiranjeevi's appeal to people to give him a chance so that he could change people's lives, party spokesmen Katari Srinivasa Rao and B Krishna Reddy said a mere change of players without a change in the rules of the game would be of little importance. A party could usher in new political culture only when it builds itself as a people-oriented and not a family-centered institution.

It is transparent in collection and utilisation of funds and does not admit criminal elements and abstains from vote buying with money and liquor, they claimed. The PRP should aim at ensuring quality education and healthcare and job opportunities to all, irrespective of caste and religion, and not for a selected few in the name of social justice, it added.

Courtesy: WebIndia123

Saturday, December 20, 2008 - 08:01